Double Sunday swim

IMG_3756.JPG
Courtown beach swim with Gorey open swimmers at 10.30 this morning. I have n’t swam here for years. There was some discussion about swimming to the harbour wall. Lovely sighting but instead we decided to swim straight out to a flag. All I could hear was “do you have a flag?” by Eddie Izzard the Lego version of course.
Nice swim out. Visibility moderate, tog swim. As we got out to open sea the current ran fast in a northerly drift. Very prominent on the return swim. Some discussion about distances – everyone else reckoned 750m, I thought it was longer. Lots of chat about the Kilary Fjord swim I’d love to be doing it. I’m looking for ways to be able to go. Fancy sponsoring me?
As I left Courtown a friend texted to see did I want to go for a swim? Sure why not.
This morning was glorious and warm. Could n’t get her back on the phone so dropped up to her house. Had a quick cup of hot tea to warm my insides and off we went to…

IMG_3757.JPG
Cahore, to the pier and back. S’s daughter swam with us, great swimmer. Loved that as we got to the pier she climbed the ladder and jumped off back into the sea.
The sea was clear with good visibility and although initial cold getting in it was quiet lovely to swim. Bliss, double bliss. It felt greedy and fortunate all rolled into one.
I was fascinated to see so many swimmers in Cahore.
Sunday morning swimming is such a tonic, I suppose it’s my equivalent of the pub. Do you have that?
I catch up with mates, chat, laugh, exercise and I’m in my element in the sea. What’s not to love?

This entry was published on September 28, 2014 at 10:48 pm. It’s filed under Fitness, Health, My Art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a comment